Current Forum: Forum > Magic: the Gathering > Rules Questions

Got a rules question? Ask it here! There are many rules gurus that frequent our forum.

Learn how to earn money for posting in our forums by reading: Forum Reward Summary

Post Thread

"fight" Mechanic Question
3/8/2012

pharaohjb
Acolyte
Offline

No Profile Image
Threads Started:
17
Forum Posts:
44
Skill Level:
Intermediate
Points:
89
I have a question on how to properly use the "fight" mechanic. I understand that if a creature "fighting" another creature is triggered by an activated ability (a la Nightfall Predator), that creature cannot be already tapped and the appropriate mana has to be available. However, if I were to cast Prey Upon, could I cast it on an already tapped creature?

Also, I understand that activated abilities are affected by summoning sickness, but again, could I cast Prey Upon on a creature that was just summoned on my turn?

Cheers,
Jason
pharaohjb, Member of ITC - Acolyte, 6

Trade Binder
http://www.mtgfanatic.com/forum/viewdiscussion.aspx?id=189573&page=1&pagesize=25

Pending trades: SolidDucky
Completed trades: LegendDeck, Gandalfc3, jschro, robynn theriault, the mediocre poet, X

3/8/2012

EllE
Be polite. Be efficient.
Offline

Profile Image
Threads Started:
24
Forum Posts:
2739
Skill Level:
Unknown
Points:
1319
"Fight" in itself is not an activated ability(since it isn't an ability at all, but a keyword that does something if it is in an ability or in the effect of a spell). That means it disregards summoning sickness.
It also doesn't mention anything about tapped creatures or tapping, so it has no requirements there.

3/8/2012

firechao
Planeswalker
Offline

Profile Image
Threads Started:
55
Forum Posts:
864
Skill Level:
Intermediate
Points:
152
The Prey Upon reminder text is key, it just says "deals damage", which does not require a creature to be untapped (combat damage is usually dealt by tapped creatures, in fact).
ITC VP of International Affairs and Mage-level trader (38 successful trades; see my trading thread)

3/8/2012

theRedneckanator
Knight
Offline

Profile Image
Threads Started:
36
Forum Posts:
242
Skill Level:
Advanced
Points:
424
So yes, you can target a tapped creature or a creature that just entered the battlefield with the "fight" ability
Ray xPSYCHOREDNECKx Vinson
Xbox Live
"Pending ITC Member - 1 successful trade(s)"
6 pending trades
Tradebinder

Sucessful Trades


"A Balanced Deck Is A Powerful Deck"

3/8/2012

Philidox
Knight
Offline

Profile Image
Threads Started:
9
Forum Posts:
124
Skill Level:
Intermediate
Points:
415
Incidentally if you are playing B/G then you can horrendous things with this card; phyrexian obliterator vs something = spot removal and huge sac effect for your opponent.

3/8/2012

BigDaddyDre
FFA Beatdown King
Offline

Profile Image
Threads Started:
420
Forum Posts:
6344
Skill Level:
Advanced
Points:
3600
I'm going to stick a Lure on my Phyrexian Obliterator...emoticon
Proud Canadian and Fanatic. I am one of MtGFanatic's moderators.
President of the ITC, Archmage - 250 Trades completed with 105 different members
Trade threads
Dre's Trade Gallery

Trader Reputation
Spoiler (Click to View)

3/8/2012

theRedneckanator
Knight
Offline

Profile Image
Threads Started:
36
Forum Posts:
242
Skill Level:
Advanced
Points:
424
Stick a Pariah's Shield on it emoticon
Ray xPSYCHOREDNECKx Vinson
Xbox Live
"Pending ITC Member - 1 successful trade(s)"
6 pending trades
Tradebinder

Sucessful Trades


"A Balanced Deck Is A Powerful Deck"

3/9/2012

pharaohjb
Acolyte
Offline

No Profile Image
Threads Started:
17
Forum Posts:
44
Skill Level:
Intermediate
Points:
89
Using Prey Upon with Phyrexian Obliterator is an interesting scenario. Would the Obliterator's trample still do damage to your opponent if your opponent's creature's toughness is less than 5?
pharaohjb, Member of ITC - Acolyte, 6

Trade Binder
http://www.mtgfanatic.com/forum/viewdiscussion.aspx?id=189573&page=1&pagesize=25

Pending trades: SolidDucky
Completed trades: LegendDeck, Gandalfc3, jschro, robynn theriault, the mediocre poet, X

3/9/2012

EllE
Be polite. Be efficient.
Offline

Profile Image
Threads Started:
24
Forum Posts:
2739
Skill Level:
Unknown
Points:
1319
Not if you cause it to fight another creature, no. Trample only works in combat.