Current Forum: Forum > Magic: the Gathering > General Discussion

For discussion of everything to do with Magic that can't fit in any of the other forums.

Learn how to earn money for posting in our forums by reading: Forum Reward Summary

Post Thread

How to Win At 20 Questions
3/12/2011

draak111
Knight

Profile Image
Threads Started:
Forum Posts:
Skill Level:
Intermediate
How to win at 20 questions.

Ok I’m writing this because I enjoy playing the 20 questions game, but I hate seeing people ask irrelevant, redundant, or just plain stupid questions.
Just so you don’t think I’m some 12 year old kid that has no idea what I’m talking about here is a little bit about me. I’ve been playing magic on and off again for about 16 years now. I don’t want to sound like I’m some master 20 questions guy, or super genius (because I’m FAR from that), but I have won the 20 questions game several times and my work has me dealing with problem solving a lot. So let’s cut to the chase.

First off, I like to break my questions down into three phases, in the beginning, mid way, and the final run.

In the beginning you need to take your time, ask broad questions that eliminate very large sections of cards and be conservative in your questions. I usually use only one or two of my questions in the first 10 questions asked. Stick with the basics. Some sample questions:
Is it rare, (this eliminates Rare and Mythic Rare) common or uncommon, ask one of these.
Does it have the new (post 8th edition) border? This narrows down about half the sets.
Is it a permanent? This narrows it down to about half.
Next start narrowing down what you know.
If it’s a permanent ask if it’s a creature, than artifact, than enchantment. If it’s not permanent you can ask if it’s a sorcery or an instant. Either question works at this point.
If it’s not the rareness that you asked, ask if it’s one of the others, by now you should know if it’s rare, uncommon, or common.